Selah volleyball team earns state trophy for first time since 2015

The Selah High volleyball team returned to the Class 2A state tournament in mid-November, winning a pair of matches and taking home an eighth-place trophy.

The Vikings, who missed out on state in 2018, last won a trophy in 2015, when they placed seventh.


This year’s tournament was held Nov. 15-16 at Central Washington University in Ellensburg.

Selah dropped its first-round match 3-0 to Lynden, but rebounded to sweep River Ridge and Steilacoom to earn a spot in the seventh-eighth place match against Columbia River of Vancouver.

After falling behind 2-0 after the first two sets (25-22, 25-19), the Vikings won the third set 25-20 before dropping the fourth by a score of 25-15.

Seniors playing in their final match for Selah were setter Jade Larrabee, middle hitters Hannah Walter and Samantha Dremann, and outside hitter/libero Madison Seely.

Larrabee was named co-Player of the Year in the CWAC and was a first-team all-conference selection. She also earned first-team all-state honors in December.

Freshman outside hitter Taylor Kieser joined her on the first team, while junior Addison Scott was named to the second team. Junior Sydney Wells received honorable mention.


CWAC volleyball was a two-team race this fall, with Ellensburg and Selah standing far above the competition.

CWAC volleyball

The Bulldogs got the better of the Vikings in all three of their meetings — once in the preseason, once in league play and once in the district tournament — and went on to take second at the Class 2A state tournament. Selah went on to claim an eighth-place state trophy, winning a pair of matches against the state’s best teams.

Ellensburg finished the season at 18-2 overall and 9-0 in league, followed by Selah at 15-5 (8-1 CWAC). Ephrata, Prosser and Quincy all checked in at 6-3, while Othello grabbed the final district tournament spot at 4-5.

A much-improved Toppenish squad finished seventh at 3-6, followed by Grandview (2-7), East Valley (1-8) and Wapato (0-9).